thisendup
I'm back for a bit...

The Escalator Situation

01.29.04
what just happened shouldn't be in a diary but shown on a sitcom. damn. i'll share with you anyway because you may feel quite cool by comparison.

i had to go to the print shop to pick up some copies for a class starting on monday. each participant guide is 238 pages [they counted them for me, ain't that sweet?]. there were 17 copies and the original. i grabbed them all and decided to take the escalator back up the stairs... so you can already sniff the portent of doom.

i eyed the steps moving upward and reached tenaciously out with my foot. finding a stair i put all my weight on it and held on until i reached the next floor. i repeated this on the next floor - look, guess, reach and step.

except the last time i looked, guessed, reached and stepped i found myself balanced on half of a stair. so my foot was still attached and going skyward. my other foot was firmly planted back on second floor. i'm pretty damn flexible but i could only hold on for so long. i should also add at this point that i am wearing a kilt and tights.

so i collapse onto the escalator, doing my best to keep my copies in line. they do their best to get out of line. i start piling them on top of each other and we reach the top of the escalator long before our time. i scoop the papers onto the landing and skid behind them on my knees.

at the top of the escalator i started frantically pulling the stacks together. two co-workers appeared at the bottom and started the ascent towards me. they yelled to have me move out of the way but i wanted to keep my paper in some kind of order and stubbornly kept things together as long as i could while the two co-workers and then four young male execs stomped over me.

finally i grasped all the papers with the help of my co-workers and hobbled back to my desk. i spent the last twenty minutes collating them. it was embarassing as hell but there are two things that i am thankful for: strong-ass tights and super flexibility.

oh golly. that required physical fitness of some kind. that kind of exertion should be saved for activities with the boy.

that last hyperlink was made to open in a separate window with html provided by fargahar. i'll try to use it in the future because a happy fargahar is on my list of things to accomplish today. [notice i didn't say "to do" because that would have been dirty?]

12:50 ::
prev :: next