thisendup
I'm back for a bit...

The Decline of the Roving Trainer

11.11.03
there is something that used to happen a long time ago, not so long ago that i have forgotten, but it's been awhile... in this time i used to love my job.

i am a corporate trainer. i used to spend hours scanning websites for icebreakers and fun ways to learn. i would even spend my own money to buy books about adult learning [not the serious looking ones - the ones with lots of pictures and instructions on making paper airplanes]

i would spend hours preparing for a class. i used more office supplies and organized every thought and idea so that it would be ready to use. i even did mock flipchart sheets. my insanity knew no bounds, my friends.

in the last year this passion has gone. i have found moments when i have been excited about my job, enough so that i had others excited as well. i can really turn on the juice when i need to and get a class wired as all get out.

but as i said before, the thrill just isn't there anymore. oh, no. i often encounter the urge to call in sick... even when i'm on a business trip. i have almost fallen asleep while i have been training.

the trainees still think that i'm 'da bomb' [i put that in quotes because they said it, that's how quotes work.] they have no inkling of my former power presenter status.

they are also not aware that more than half the reason that i have them taking mock calls at the moment is so that i can update my diary. the uncovering of my dark nature is not something that is lost on me, i have seen this coming.

it is a wicked and lazy road i travel. i'd ask you to join me but that involves effort and motivation.

09:31 ::
prev :: next