thisendup
I'm back for a bit...

The Glory That Is Stand Up Training

01.19.04
i'm a stand up trainer. that means that i stand up in front of a group and train them. my classes are usually three weeks, two of which involves the stand up training i mentioned and one week of helping people as they start taking phone calls.

this is my third year with 'giant corp' and my second training. it seems that in every class i am asked why i work for 'giant corp' when i could be a comedian or something similar. it's not the money. while most comedians make woefully small salaries i'm not exactly kicking their asses with my current pay.

the real reason is that i have enough trouble getting to work as it is. i don't try to be funny, that's just how it works out at times. i get bored talking about credit bureaus or add on sales. sometimes that boredom converts me from a working stiff to an entertainer. it isn't what i'm really all about and i hardly think that i'm funny. i think that compared to what one expects in a stand up trainer i'm no slouch. however, these people are paid to sit there and listen to me. i hardly think that their imput on my permanently defunct stage career is valid.

i bring all this up now as i'm looking down the barrel of yet another one of these classes. at least this one is in town. i am looking forward to being forced to get to work at a certain time. not having this requirement foisted on me for quite some time i have left off getting in before 11 on most days. that stinks because i end up at work when most normal people are loosening their belt buckles and sinking in to some really horrid tv.

i don't truly know if i'm emotionally up to controlling a room full of people learning a new system. i'm preparing for this class [which has become a rarity, like a billing error in my favor]. part of the reason for the preparation is that my new co-worker will be joining my class for the second week. this is the same co-worker who turned me into the personnel police not too long ago. though i have forgiven him for this and moved on it doesn't stop the anxiety over having to interact with him for hours on end.

hopefully this entry was a bit more upbeat for y'all. i don't like writing about the funk i'm going through right now. i don't want to avoid it because this diary started out as a way to work through all of the muck. having entries as upbeat as a morgue doesn't make me feel much better though.

the boy is taking me for greek food this evening. it's perfect weather for it, a balmy 7 degrees at last check. spring is coming, right?

18:07 ::
prev :: next