thisendup
I'm back for a bit...

Stepping Out With My Baby... and his mum

02.21.04
so i have to admit that getting dressed for an evening out with the boy and his mom is always a bit tense. but as i mentioned yesterday the three of us are going out for a burlesque show this evening. that turns it up a notch, doesn't it?

that also made it impossible to get dressed today. by that i mean that i had trouble deciding what would be appropriate to wear. first off there is the consideration of where we are going. a night of strip tease should not be attended if you feel that you look like crap. you see a bunch of fine young things dropping trou in front of your boyfriend and all of a sudden your hastily chosen big red t-shirt seems woefully out of place. i try to find something that keeps me in the running, as far as my ego goes.

it would never be a good idea to directly compare myself or my bod those on the stage. they don't have corporate jobs that require them to be around potlucks and anniversary cakes all week long. they also don't have a boyfriend who likes to go out for dinner every night. [well, maybe they do but you get my drift...] if i wanted to get serious about my looks i wouldn't have to work too hard but i know that i'm not up to doing a stop and drop on stage yet. i'm not going to put myself through the horror of comparison.

but i'm also not eager to put myself in a bad light where the boy's mom is concerned. i want to look [forgive me here] hot but i don't want to look sexy. i don't want his mom to see me at dinner and think "hey, this is the girl my son is boning. isn't that nice?"

so i pulled about two dozen different combinations of skirts and shirts on and i hope that i've got it down now. i picked something that i would easily wear to work on a slightly casual day. work's a good barometer because i work with lots of moms. many of the moms that i work with are much less open-minded than the boy's. she sent him a pin up calendar for christmas, after all.

let's just hope that i have done it. i would like to enjoy my evening and not silently be damning my wardrobe for the entire evening. i really don't think that i would but sometimes when your agenda centers around staring at mostly naked women your mind tends to wander... not always to randy things either.

hope your weekend is going well, my friends. i promise to report back.

14:12 ::
prev :: next