thisendup
I'm back for a bit...

I'm Melting and So is Oona

06.23.05
I'm bad with summer. I melt. I was born to be in a 70 degree climate with a slight breeze or in the shade or inside with the air running full boar.

However, I live in an apartment with no air. I invested in a fan. It's one of those that sits in your window and has two little rotors so you can theoretically move hot air out and cool air in. Theoretically, indeed! I'm panting and so is my kitten.

Oona spends a good part of every night laying with her belly on the wood floor and her legs shot off to the side like something out of a Prince video. She's miserable and I'm only slightly better. Thanks in part to evolution I have opposable thumbs and I lack a fear of water that allows for really long cold showers. Like half an hour or so freezing my butt off only to return to the fetid damp that is my little studio.

I know that it won't be that bad for that much longer. I got a few offers to stay over with friends. Most of them are the kind of people that I try to avoid spending excess time with so staying over at their apartments, though air-conditioned they be, is still kind of unwelcome... like spending your whole night watching Lizzie McGuire reruns is unwelcome. (at least it is for me)

I found that watching black and white movies while laying on the wooden floor with my kitten helps. So far I've gone through all my Bogie and Bacall and will be moving on to some Audrey Hepburn and Marilyn Monroe flicks tonight. Even when Bogart sweats he still is one damn cool breeze.

I just really want today to be over so I can go and hang with my sweaty little kitten. Poor thing. I hope that she hasn't become a little puddle of fur.

16:23 ::
prev :: next