thisendup
I'm back for a bit...

You Make Think It's Funny, But It's Snot

04.13.04
where the hell have i been? i used to be obsessive about putting an entry up every single freaking day but i've been slacking it up quite a bit lately. i actually had a huge weekend and there's bits and pieces to share... here i go:

i got my review on friday from my boss. i was thinking that i'd do quite nicely. i got the highest possible score on my mid-year and that led me to think that my annual would win me cheers and big fat kisses on my cheek. i was wrong. wrong, wrong, wrong. i got the shock of my life when bosslady clued me in to my just competent status. i don't think that anything changed between my mid-year and annual that should warrant this kind of treatment. honestly, i've been kicking solid ass for quite awhile. i sold my soul to this corporation and all i got was a lousy t-shirt and some keychains.

i was more than a bit upset. we're talking about holding back the tears and wanting very badly to hit things. i picked up the boy and ran him home. i was going to leave it there but he actually made a deal of wanting to comfort me. so i told him that i didn't really want to be touched all that much because it made the tears leak out. then i ran inside his apartment with him and started myself one long game of poppit while he supplied me with whiskey 7ups.

eventually i was stable enough for him to approach me and i was given a good long backrub before we headed out the door for some grub. i made the boy go to whitey's because their turkey burgers hold some kind of spell on me. the whiskey kept coming and somehow during all of this the boy became very attracted to me. that's not just the whiskey talking either. he was actually hitting on me... big change of pace.

i still felt kind of shaken. here's why: i work really hard at my job, harder than i should. when i should go on leave i make myself hold out for the sake of my co-workers. when there's an opportunity to do better i go for it and i felt taken advantage of. my supervisor aced me out of one point that would have made my raise quite a bit less pathetic.

when i started thinking about how run down my job had allowed me to get i also started thinking about my other favorite lost cause: the boy. i'm being taken advantage there too. he doesn't have to say that he loves me but i still give him all that i have. the two added together was giving me a big dose of sucks-to-be-me that i'd rather not go in to.

after dinner we ran to a show at the 400 bar. man oh man. the legendary shackshakers earned their name. the pint-sized lead singer belted out song after song whilst grabbing fist fulls of his own pubic hair directly from the source then throwing it at the crowd. we were also threatened with the farmer blow or water being thrown on us. the stand up bass player and the drummer just continued to play like they weren't surrounded by delusional freaks. the guitar player eyed the crowd with a look that said "i'm giving it all up here you better start moving around or i'll give you something that will keep you from moving for a long, long time."

i went home that night covered in who-knows-what. it's the most fun i've had in a long time. i let the boy buy me drinks and i did what i wanted - which was mostly dancing like a moron and yelling obscenities. i feel much better now.

16:08 ::
prev :: next