thisendup
I'm back for a bit...

Band of Idiots

12.09.03
about three years ago i was in a band. being in that band has changed so many things in my life and we never even had a gig.

when i started working for this big bad corp i was straight out of college. this was the first place i applied and this was for one simple reason: they had a phone interview. later i had to scuttle in and talk to someone but the fact that i could interview for a job over the phone without it being for adult entertainment was very important to me.

i started the week after moving to minneapolis. mommylap was in that class and we rocked the casbah. you wanted an answer then look over here... working in a call center wasn't all that bad. it was definitely nice to have a job.

a month or so down the line i got a new cube mate. let's call him hairy, mostly due to his facial hair because his scalp had given up holding on to much by the time that i met him. got myself a crush on hairy and we flirted while we worked and that was fun. he also was dealing with depression and relieved as hell to talk about it.

hairy asked me to join him and some friends on a night out. those friends turned out to be joe and the boy. unbeknownst to me, i was being auditioned for their band.

these three knew that i played keyboards. they said that they liked my attitude [ability to take their lead and willingness to wear short skirts & drink heavily] so a few weeks later i started going to rehearsals with them.

my crush on hairy moved to the boy. while i got the feeling that he didn't mind any attention he got from me, he was cool to my advances. [doesn't that sound like a line from a teen mag circa 1954?]. i soon found out why...

after months of practice the boy, joe, bub [a friend of theirs and now mine] and little old me. i was flirting heavily with joe. i had a feeling that he liked me and i thought that he needed the confidence. this was not a well thought out plan. he kissed me. he kissed me at the table of a chinese restaurant with the two guys watching.

and i kissed him back.

16:20 ::
prev :: next